The Comfort Zone

I feel at home in my comfort zone
I’m just as content as I can be
I don’t need to grow; I don’t need to change
I don’t want anything challenging me.

I keep to myself; don’t need no one else
People can just let me be.
The only people in my comfort zone
Are the people who are just like me.

I don’t need the conflict; I don’t need the tears
People should just do things my way.
As long as people do what I want
I will allow them to stay.

I’m not comfortable meeting new people.
They’ve always been easy to ignore.
But now I’m alone in my comfort zone.
And it’s not so comfortable anymore

One Day this life will be over
And as I kneel before God’s throne
I hope the Lord will forgive me
For never leaving my comfort zone.

—Kenneth Sayers

Written 6/18/2014

About Ken Sayers

I'm currently employed by a children's home where my wife and I care for a cottage of girls who have been displaced from their families. I'm a middle age man with two grown children of my own and one grandchild. I have worked as a United States Marine, a youth minister, a preacher, a childcare worker, and a truck driver. My hobbies include photography, horses, playing guitar, writing, and fitness.
This entry was posted in Poems. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

