The Visiting Demon

It’s been a while since he’s come my way
But a demon came to visit me today
He looked like any ordinary guy
But I knew he was a demon in disguise.

He pointed out my flaws one by one
Making me ashamed for the mistakes I had done.
And as sorrow filled my heart,
He continued to wail and rip me apart.

I tried to explain my intentions were pure.
I don’t want to hurt people; I just want to serve.
The last thing I’d want is to cause someone pain,
“That doesn’t matter,” the demon complained.

You are a loser; you just don’t belong.
Everything you do is always wrong.
You are not fit to be here with us,
You’re a worthless piece of slime that I can not trust.

What can I do to change how you feel?
I inquired from the demon as he yelled at me still
There’ll be no mercy or pardon to have
He just wanted to hurt, and hurt me real bad.

That’s how they work. Demons destroy.
They have nothing to give; the just steak your joy.
They laugh at your tears, they rejoice when you fail.
When visited by a demon, that’s how you tell.

by Ken Sayers (May 28, 2014)

 

 

About Ken Sayers

I'm currently employed by a children's home where my wife and I care for a cottage of girls who have been displaced from their families. I'm a middle age man with two grown children of my own and one grandchild. I have worked as a United States Marine, a youth minister, a preacher, a childcare worker, and a truck driver. My hobbies include photography, horses, playing guitar, writing, and fitness.
This entry was posted in Poems. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to The Visiting Demon

  1. Mar says:

    was the visit an actual visit like a home visit?
    or was more like being visited while out and about?

    I assume the majority of the “exchange of emotions” was through facial expression.

    i assume you respond with your mind.

    I dont believe in demons,
    i believe in people with Emotional problems
    Emotion blindness is typical
    (relative to common challenges of early childhood parenting where situations of “good” or “bad” lead to a loss of moral right/wrong and reinforce reliance on parent rather than deeper insight and understanding)

    many people have mental illness….
    where in actuality much deeper reasons for it….
    (not fully understood & its easy have little/no trust in the medical profession)

    need food fast? (buy fast food)
    eat for preserving health & survival? (you gotta do it yourself)

    i perceive lots of harm around me,
    lots of blindness,
    potential for emotional problems
    misimformation..

    I see myself as that demon.
    i interpret my world very different
    i experience people misinterpret of what i feel all the time.
    its easy to feel overwhelmed and want to stop feeling to not feel the disconnection.
    self acceptance has helped me not feel so bad from the experience.
    my face expressions much different, a reflection of my feelings
    my feelings a reflection of many things.

    very stressful,overwhelming & lots of confusion.
    I often go to the health food stores to buy food,
    my social experiences their are very challenging

    • Ken Sayers says:

      I often refer to the negative thoughts in my brain as “my demons.” I really don’t think the people that bring about the thoughts are demons, but the thoughts themselves. Whether demons exist or not is not really my purpose. The battlefield of the mind is what is being described.

Leave a Reply

