Cemetery Walk

April 29 001

Sometimes I go where the bones rot below
To reflect on my life and where I want it to go.
The stones cry out with a message that’s clear:
Live life while you can for the end may be near.

Love all you can and work as you must
Share the thoughts of your heart with the loved ones you trust
For you have no idea how much time you have left
But the thoughts you share may live long beyond death.

In the midst of those who’ve gone on before
People gather to pray, they gather to mourn.
It is here people come to bid loved ones goodbye
And they water the grass with the tears that they cry.

As I walk among the distinguished works of art
I think about the people whose grave they now mark.
If you listen real close you may hear their stories
Some of great heartache and pain, and others of great glory.

About Ken Sayers

I'm currently employed by a children's home where my wife and I care for a cottage of girls who have been displaced from their families. I'm a middle age man with two grown children of my own and one grandchild. I have worked as a United States Marine, a youth minister, a preacher, a childcare worker, and a truck driver. My hobbies include photography, horses, playing guitar, writing, and fitness.
This entry was posted in Poems and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

