God’s Gift

Written June 22, 1995 and read at Charlotte Foster’s funeral service. My grandmother was an incredible woman and I miss her greatly. My words fall incredibly short in describing such a great woman. 

God's Gift by Ken Sayers

Let us remember at this time of grief, as we weep and pray
God has given us a special gift, and we all knew she couldn’t stay.
But let us each be thankful for the times that we have had
And for the many lives she touched with love, let us each be glad.

In a world filled with so much darkness, she was a shining light
Providing us an example to stand up for what is right.
She seldom wanted for herself, a servant’s attitude she wore
Always serving where she could no matter how hard the chore.

No matter who it was who came her way, she only saw the best.
Showing forgiveness, love and care was her biggest quest.
To all the people who shared her life her love was made quite plain.
She was one who would share your tears when your life had pain.

To one of us she was a devoted wife and his life she richly blessed
Providing help and endless love throughout life’s many tests.
For some she was a mother always putting their needs above her own
Providing each with love and care to insure a happy home.

But now that she left us here, and sorrow fills our hearts
Let us remember all the special times in life that she has played a part.
And as we remember the lives she touched, let our spirits lift,
For we have been richly blessed by one of God’s special gifts.

I believe this is a picture of my grandmother at her first communion.

I believe this is a picture of my grandmother at her first communion.


This is my grandmother when she was just a girl outside of her house.

This is my grandmother when she was just a girl outside of her house.


Charles Miner, by grandmother's adopted father. He died when she was still quite young. I believe she was 8.

Charles Miner, by grandmother’s adopted father. He died when she was still quite young. I believe she was 8.

Charles Miner2

About Ken Sayers

I'm currently employed by a children's home where my wife and I care for a cottage of girls who have been displaced from their families. I'm a middle age man with two grown children of my own and one grandchild. I have worked as a United States Marine, a youth minister, a preacher, a childcare worker, and a truck driver. My hobbies include photography, horses, playing guitar, writing, and fitness.
This entry was posted in Poems and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

