Loving a Sayers

This Poem was inspired when my brother left his wife on Valentine’s Day to live with his  girlfriend, Margaret, in the area of Chicago.   I wanted to warn her what she was getting into. Sure it is written facetiously, but the fact is that it has never been easy for anyone to fall in love with a member of my family. Perhaps this could be said about anyone.  I believe it was written May 29, 2010.

If your in love with a Sayers
You must be out of your mind
For you are destined to struggle
And be broke all the time.

We’re moody and volatile
With low self-esteem
And those who we love
We often treat mean

There’s no end to our wrath
so stay off of our path
Or we’ll rip out your heart
And put a knife in your back.

We’ll laugh at your pain
And make fun when your scared
We’ll embarrass you a lot
And we won’t even care.

We’ll squander your wealth
Then feel sorry for our self
Why are we like this
I really can’t tell.

So Run if you can,
But it’s probably too late
So like a sheep to the slaughter
You must accept your fate.

–by Ken Sayers
Let it be a warning

About Ken Sayers

I'm currently employed by a children's home where my wife and I care for a cottage of girls who have been displaced from their families. I'm a middle age man with two grown children of my own and one grandchild. I have worked as a United States Marine, a youth minister, a preacher, a childcare worker, and a truck driver. My hobbies include photography, horses, playing guitar, writing, and fitness.
This entry was posted in Poems and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

