The Happy Pills Song

I’m actually not sure when I wrote this song. I imagine it was written 2006-2007. Anybody who has read some of my poems during this dark period of my life (see When the Demons Come, The Great Abyss, or Does
God Hate me?) can understand that I needed some medication to get me out of the funk I was in. So now whenever I see a person who is always negative and grumpy, I suggesting getting some happy pills (legal ones–better known as anti-depressants).

It seems everything  I do  these days
Is getting on my nerves.
When the kids won’t mind; My wife just nags
And I work with a bunch of jerks

The politicians done wrecked the economy
The worlds a mess as far as I can see
I just can’t  get ahead
Perhaps I’d be better off dead

Oh, Why am I the last to see
What’s really wrong with me

Chorus:

I need my happy pills
Just give me happy pills
And I won’t yell and scream
And I won’t be so mean

Life ain’t all that bad
When I don’t feel so sad.
Sometimes I need to chill
And maybe  just take a pill

Give me happy pills today.

A man got mad and stabbed his best friend
Some kids done shot up another school again.
A husband just beat his wife
I’m telling you something just ain’t right

There’s a man jumping off of the bridge
Cause he can’t find a reason to live.
A young girl went ended her life again
Her life is over now before it really begins

It seems that something’s wrong
The world needs to hear my song.

Chorus

About Ken Sayers

I'm currently employed by a children's home where my wife and I care for a cottage of girls who have been displaced from their families. I'm a middle age man with two grown children of my own and one grandchild. I have worked as a United States Marine, a youth minister, a preacher, a childcare worker, and a truck driver. My hobbies include photography, horses, playing guitar, writing, and fitness.
This entry was posted in Songs and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

