My first half marrathon

Today I completed one of the goals that I set at the beginning of the year. Since this was my 50th year of life, which many consider to be over the hill, I wanted this to be the year I went up the hill. The town where I live is close to the 2nd highest mountain in the state of Arkansas. Each year they hold a half-marrathon run up the mountain.  Orginally, I planned on doing a relay with another person, but they did away with the two-person relay. It was going to an all or nothing. I also planned on training a lot more for the run, but that didn’t happen either. The last run I did I that was even close this distance was the Tulsa 15K in 1998. The longest training run I did this year was about an hour and half run up some hills and on the trails. I wasn’t ready for a half-marrathon. 

  Therefore, I kind of surprised myself in completing the run in just 2 and half hours. That certainly isn’t anything to brag about, but considering my condition: not too bad. My average mile was 11:22 and that was quite a hill.

Those of you who were with me in the Marines will remember “Mt. Mother” and “Recon ridge.” What I did today was much more demanding and its been 28 years. Why would I torture myself like this? That’s what I kept asking myself as I was going up the hill. Maybe it’s a midlife crisis. I just can’t afford the sports car. Maybe I just like a challenge to know that I still have some level of self-discipline. I still have two more fitness goals for the year. Going on an obstacle run on the 25th. That’s just for fun, but I want to bring my 5K under 21minutes. That’s going to just as much of a challenge as this one. The 5K will be on May 2. Not much time to bring up my speed.

Thanks to all who encouraged me and ran up the hill with me this year. It wasn’t fun, but it was strangely satisfying.

About Ken Sayers

I'm currently employed by a children's home where my wife and I care for a cottage of girls who have been displaced from their families. I'm a middle age man with two grown children of my own and one grandchild. I have worked as a United States Marine, a youth minister, a preacher, a childcare worker, and a truck driver. My hobbies include photography, horses, playing guitar, writing, and fitness.
This entry was posted in Things I believe in. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

