The Heart of My Song 

I’ve written several songs about all sorts of things most of them are just goofy. This is a song I wrote for my wife. I wrote it a couple of weeks ago, but she has never seen it or heard it. Today is our 27th wedding anniversary so I’m posting it. I made a rough video of me singing it. I’m not much of a singer, guitar player, or song writer; but my hearts in the right place

Click here to see video

To the left is a favorite picture of mine from when Paula and I were dating at Oklahoma Christian. We have gone through so much together. She has been my constant in a world that is constantly changing. To me, that is what the song is about. 

Verse:
We’ve been together now most of our lives
We’ve traversed some mountains and valleys alike. 

We’ve gone through some changes; some good and some bad

We’ve laughed when we’re happy; we’ve cried when were sad. 
We’ve made our mistakes; we’ve had our regrets

But we’ve built us a family that’s survived the tests.

And we’re still together after all of these years

Through the pain and losses, you’ve aways been here.
Chorus: 

You’re my angel that comforts and guides through the pain

You’re my rainbow that comes out after the rain.

You’re my grace and forgiveness when I know I’ve done wrong 

And honey, you are the heart of my song.  
Verse:

We stood at the altar so long ago

Without a clue of how life would go

But we said us some vows before God and friends

That we’d stick together till our live’s end. 
For better or worse, through sickness and pain

Whether rich or poor, we’ve survived the strain

Now our children are grown, and we’ve grown too

And I want you to know, I still love you. 
Chorus: 

You’re my angel that comforts and guides through the pain

You’re my rainbow that comes out after the rain.

You’re my grace and forgiveness when I know I’ve done wrong 

And honey, you are the heart of my song.  

About Ken Sayers

I'm currently employed by a children's home where my wife and I care for a cottage of girls who have been displaced from their families. I'm a middle age man with two grown children of my own and one grandchild. I have worked as a United States Marine, a youth minister, a preacher, a childcare worker, and a truck driver. My hobbies include photography, horses, playing guitar, writing, and fitness.
This entry was posted in Songs and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

